No Picture
General Article

Questions and Answers About Continuing Education and Insurance Licenses in the State of Florida

Questions and Answers About Continuing Education and Insurance Licenses in the State of Florida

Question: Who is required to complete continuing education courses in order to maintain their licenses?

Answer: In order to maintain a license the following licensees are required to take continuing education courses as required by the Florida Department of Financial Services: adjustors (public, independent, and employees of insurance companies), customer representatives, and insurance agents who self, general lines (property and casualty insurance), personal lines, health only, industrial fire or burglary, life and health, life including variable annuity, and life including variable annuity and health agents, life only, limited surety, motor vehicle insurance agents (physical damage and mechanical breakdown), professional bail bondsmen, surplus lines, and title agents.

Question: When am I required to take intermediate and advanced level continuing education courses?

Answer: Once you have been licensed for six years, you can no longer take beginner level continuing education courses, meaning from then on, you are required to take only intermediate and advanced level courses.

Question: I am a non-resident Florida licensee living in the state of Michigan. My status shows that I am out of compliance in Florida. How do I meet compliance in Florida?

Answer: In order to meet compliance, you’ll need to verify your home state, which in your case is Michigan, and update your CE compliance. You can do this by requesting a letter of certification from the state of Michigan verifying that you meet compliance. You can also request a copy of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ database showing your active resident license status. You won’t be considered ‘out of compliance’ until 45 days after your compliance date so you’ll need to wait to send your letter until after your compliance cycle has ended.

Question: I took a course online but it isn’t showing up on my transcript. What do I do?

Answer: Your continuing education provider has 20 days after you’ve completed your course to submit course credit for you. If they have no submitted your course credit after the 20 day period, you should contact the provider directly. If you still have problems, you can call the Florida Department of Financial Services at 850-413-3137.

Question: I’m changing my adjustor license from one adjustor to another adjustor license. How does this affect me meeting CE compliance? What are the dates and requirements of compliance?

Answer: Your compliance period will remain the same and your requirements will not change if you switch from one adjustor type to another.…

No Picture
General Article

An Online Continuing Education Insurance Course – Will It Be Right For You?

An Online Continuing Education Insurance Course – Will It Be Right For You?

With today’s numerous demands of our time, attempting to keep up with the insurance continuing education prerequisites sometimes feels out of the question. Yet, complying with the licensing regulations to your state and staying current with today’s laws and processes is needed in the insurance industry. So what can be an easy solution to do this? Without doubt web based classes come to mind as they can be achieved anywhere whenever you want, as long as you have access to the internet. But what features is best to find in selecting an online course? Listed here are suggestions for you to think about.

1) The online continuing education insurance site should present each of the courses and materials you must have for all of the 50 states. This is very important therefore you aren’t required to go to different sites, depending upon the course, which makes this inconvenient for you personally. A good provider knows the prerequisites for any state and will present you with these details as well.

2) Different people have different styles of acquiring knowledge, not to mention different lifestyles. A reliable provider should accommodate you, not the other way round. They must provide you with supplies in different formats including visual, audio download, and even, printed form. Currently, material downloadable to an iPod, Music player or CD certainly are a must.

3) Classes must be created so that people in the course can choose if they choose to complete it fairly quickly or over several weeks or a few months. Being able to login to a system, as many times as they want, and proceed right where they left off is definitely a necessity. This feature reduces frustration and a lot of wasted time.

4) The materials should really be comprehensive, easy to understand, and all-inclusive so they can allow people in the course to pass the test, as in the end that is the objective of any continuing education course. On the other hand, when enrollees do not successfully pass the exam, for whatever reason, they must be permitted to retake it as frequently as they really need to so that they can successfully pass the course.

5) After deciding to buy an internet based course, the course provider should certainly offer prompt test outcomes and handle almost any interaction and licensing requirements with the state certification board directly (some states do not allow this). The student must not have to take care of these typically irritating requirements, and a lot of paperwork, whatsoever. Additionally, the paperwork must be executed automatically in just a couple of days at no extra cost.

6) Lastly, though extremely vital, an individual taking a continuing education insurance online course should promptly receive their proof for completing any exam. The provider will need to produce them with certificates of Completion which should be down loadable and printable instantly. If your student needs future access, in the event that evidence is essential or they forgot to print the proof, it must be obtainable then also.

This is simply not a comprehensive list, but it should provide you with some initial tips to provide help to pick an internet-based continuing education insurance provider to satisfy your annual requirements in a very flexible, user friendly manner.…

No Picture
General Article

Engineering Continuing Education – What Are Professional Development Hours?

Engineering Continuing Education – What Are Professional Development Hours?

Suppose in a few months you will be renewing your Professional Engineering license. Going through the checklist, you notice that you need a few more engineering continuing education credits. Oh no, there is not enough time left to register for a college class or find a convention or seminar in your local area. What are you going to do? What about online? Are there any websites offering engineering continuing education courses? Yes there are. You have found several websites, but will your State Licensure Board accept the courses? And what is the difference between a Continuing Education Unit (CEU) and Professional Development Hour (PDH)?

Many engineers with a Professional Engineer license obtain their technical and managerial skills by mostly attending professional monthly meetings, which generally accumulate 0.5 PDH per meeting, and either attending conferences or seminars, where 1 or more PDHs are offered for each presentation. At least 30 states require continuing education units with the minimum requirement usually 15 PDHs per year or 30 PDHs every two years. The courses have to be related to engineering and can be on topics that are technical, ethical, or managerial. According to the National Society of Professional Engineers, one acceptable activity to earn PDHs is attending continuing education courses. Online courses are usually acceptable in all states, but a few states do limit the number of online courses. Five states (New York, Florida, Louisiana, North Carolina, and Oklahoma) require the State Licensure Board to pre-approval of PDH sponsors. Licensees should look into their state’s requirements.

Licensed engineers, on a voluntary or mandated basis, attend continuing education courses not only for licensure renewal but also to ensure competency. These engineers earn Professional Development Hours (PDH) for attending these courses. A Professional Development Hour is considered one contact hour of course work of either instruction or presentation. The licensee is responsible for maintaining records to be used to support credits claimed. Currently, 30 of the 50 states mandate ongoing education to maintain competency for licensed engineers.

1 Continuing Education Unit (CEU) = 10 Professional Development Hours (PDH)

Examples:

1 hour luncheon with presentation 0.05 CEUs = 0.5 PDHs

1 day seminar granting 0.7 CEUs = 7 PDHs

1.5 day seminar granting 1 CEU = 10 PDHs

2 day seminar granting 1.3 CEUs = 13 PDHs

3 day seminar granting 2 CEUs = 20 PDHs

In this article we have discussed what a professional development hour is for engineers. Many states are requiring that engineers attend these courses to stay current in their area of expertise. For the most part engineers are required to qualify and document the course they have completed each renewal period. In our rapidly changing industry completing the appropriate course can be the difference between an employed and an unemployed engineer.…

No Picture
General Article

Veterinary School Continuing Education

Veterinary School Continuing Education

If you are thinking about becoming a vet tech, you should learn about veterinary school continuing education now, so you will know what you’re getting into. This is a highly rewarding career, and if you are passionate about animals you should have no problem with getting the required education to best serve your clients and their pets. The two years of schooling and state examinations that are required to get your professional license are just the beginning, though. Depending on what state you live in, you may also need to complete continuing education through an accredited school to stay on top of the latest advancements and continue to work in this field.

Many states now require veterinary technicians to complete a minimum 16 hours of continuing education courses in order to renew your license every two years. Some states require as many as 30 hours. This coursework might include college credit courses, seminars or workshops. It may seem like a lot, but this continuing education really helps ensure that vet techs are prepared to meet the demands of tomorrow and best care for the animals that they see everyday. As long as you’re always on the lookout for eligible education opportunities you should have no problem finding plenty of courses, seminars or workshops that fit with your schedule.

There are many different ways to fulfill the veterinary school continuing education requirements for vet techs. You can take courses at local community colleges or even through an online university from the comfort of home. You can also contact the American Veterinary Medicine Association for more information about continuing education opportunities in your area. These courses should provide information about new technologies, procedures and equipment and give you a chance to brush up on the skills that you learned during your first degree program. This may include anesthesia, dentistry, lab work, nutrition information, radiography, record-keeping, surgical methodologies and more.

It is important to continue your education throughout your career as a veterinary technician. This will ensure that you are always on top of your game and providing the best care possible.…